Connect with us

Gaming

Sony Will Announce PS5, PS4 Games at Chinese Press Conference This Week

blank

Published

on

blank

Sony plans a press conference in China this week to unveil the third phase of its China Hero Project. The Japanese giant has supported developers nationwide by funding, marketing, and publishing games like FIST: Forged in Shadow Torch.

Despite skipping most major conventions this year, it confirmed this week that it will have a booth at ChinaJoy in Shanghai this weekend, July 28–31. A press conference will reveal new Chinese-developed PS5 and PS4 games before that.

EXILEDGE, AWAKEN: Astral Blade, and Will-less are the only titles announced for Phase Three of the China Hero Project, which is expected to include ten titles. The press conference, which you can watch on Bilibili, should reveal several more titles.

A time zone guide is below, but the show starts at 10AM local time in Shanghai on July 27th. The US show will be on July 26th:

  • North America: 7pm PDT / 8pm MDT / 9pm CDT / 10pm EDT
  • UK/Ire: 3am BST
  • Europe: 4am CEST / 5am EEST
  • Asia/Oceania: 11am JST / 10am AWST / 12pm AEST

Do you have any expectations for this event, or are you just hoping for some great announcements?

As Editor here at GeekReply, I'm a big fan of all things Geeky. Most of my contributions to the site are technology related, but I'm also a big fan of video games. My genres of choice include RPGs, MMOs, Grand Strategy, and Simulation. If I'm not chasing after the latest gear on my MMO of choice, I'm here at GeekReply reporting on the latest in Geek culture.

Gaming

As Disney Speedstorm Ends, Arendelle Hits PS5, PS4

blank

Published

on

blank

Disney Speedstorm, Gameloft’s free-to-play kart racer, will enter its latest season with a wintery backdrop of Arendelle. Let It Go will add Anna, Elsa, Olaf, Kristoff, and Hans as racers. As always, they’ll have unique moves and abilities.

Oaken and other musical movie crew members will be unlocked, along with a new Golden Pass. After fan feedback, the developer is rebalancing this aspect of the release so you can progress faster and unlock more rewards.

The developer also announced on Twitter that it’s lowering in-game shop prices starting today, and if you’ve paid for microtransactions, you’ll get a big payout. The French studio appears to be betting on this season’s success.

Adding non-Frozen characters Oswald, Ortensia, and WALL-E could also help. A comprehensive game update should bring back lapsed players and attract new ones. Will you challenge the kart racer?

Continue Reading

Gaming

New Destiny 2 Microtransaction Is Bad Bungie Removed It from PS5, PS4

blank

Published

on

blank

Bungie has pulled a contentious $15 starter pack from Season of the Wish, which launched yesterday. The pack had a poor selection and was marketed to new players, which the community strongly opposed.

The starter pack proudly stated that players could “experience the power of build-defining Exotic weapons by instantly unlocking three of Destiny 2’s finest: Traveler’s Chosen, Ruinous Effigy, and Sleeper Simulant.” An exotic ship, a sparrow, a ghost shell, 125,000 glimmer, 50 enhancement cores, five enhancement prisms, and one ascendant shard are also included.

This offering may seem harmless to a new player, but Forbes’ Paul Tassi says, “You sort of have to be a Destiny 2 player to understand what an outrageously bad deal this is.” The Forsaken Pack, another Bungie release, includes two dozen Exotics, a dungeon, and a raid. It cost $20 and is now $5. It looks bad, from what we can tell.

Guardians retaliated with negative Steam reviews. They orchestrated the DLC page to include “Capitalism,” “Crime,” and “Psychological Horror” user tags, which is funny.

blank

After Bungie pulled the pack, Redditor Grizz3d summarized the community response: “I don’t get how that starter pack was approved. What part of stealing from new players wasn’t going to result in community outrage? Bungie’s disconnect with players is shocking. I’m glad you got rid of the pack, but it’s disappointing that Bungie thought it was a good idea.”

This follows the Witcher 3 crossover armour sets, which look great but are expensive. Sony’s independent live service outpost is in danger due to a delayed expansion and studio layoffs.

Continue Reading

Gaming

PlayStation planted over 500,000 trees last year

blank

Published

on

blank

Sony announced last year that it would plant trees for Horizon Forbidden West PlayStation fans who unlocked a simple trophy in the open-world game. This, in partnership with several charities, sought to protect the global environment and biodiversity.

Over a year later, it released a trailer showing its progress. The company has planted 600,000 trees worldwide, restoring 1,800 acres. More importantly, the gaming industry has planted 2.5 million trees worldwide.

Gaming is fun, but we must protect our world. Sony has taken steps to be more environmentally friendly, such as adding energy-saving features to the PS5 and shipping all its products in fully recyclable packaging.

 

Continue Reading

Trending